Paris Squared and One Offended Dick
Well, there was no way I was going to let this story slip by. It seems our appropriately named Vice President is crying like a little bitch to Larry King that he's "offended" by Amnesty International's claims of the U.S. violating human rights and mistreating prisoners. Given our track record in this whole Iraq imbroglio, most glaringly our internationally condemned fuck-up at Abu Graib, I can't imagine why anyone would dare even suggest that U.S. soldiers would ever mistreat anyone in captivity.
"For Amnesty International to suggest that somehow the United States is a violator of human rights, I frankly just don't take them seriously," Cheney said. Did he suffer a head injury or something? Now, I don't think that the U.S. as a whole makes a habit of running roughshod over people's rights (not, at least, until this adminstration slithered into power), but Cheney cannot seriously dismiss the notion that our credibility for being a well-behaved military presence is very strained at present, if not altogether absent.
I will say this about Dick Cheney, though. Every single time I've seen him in an interview, he utterly seems to be the walking personification of his first name. He just comes across as an arrogant, nasty little man.
Apart from crying like a 4-year-old with a skinned knee, Cheney went on to predict that the Iraq war would almost certainly be over by 2009. Nice to know we can get it all wrapped up within a tidy 6 or 7 years, isn't it? And if not, well, surely we can elect Jeb Bush to go in there and continue the saga, right?
In another story that's truly just as laughable to me as ol' Dick being mortally offended and whatnot, Paris Hilton is apparently engaged. Let's put that smack on the cover of Who Cares Monthly magazine, shall we? I can see this being buried in the Entertainment section of most news outlets... really, I can. But for this to be a lead story on CNN? What has our country come to? And the guy she shanghied into proposing to her is... get this... also named Paris. A guy named Paris. Marrying a bimbo named Paris. If they go to the city of Paris, I'm sure the press will have a field day with those headlines.
And, as a little bonus addendum, on like Day 26 of the TomKat media circus, I was standing in line at the grocery store this weekend to buy a box of Lucky Charms (I had a craving, what can I say?) and there were their grinning faces staring at me from the covers of at least three magazines. I nearly groaned out loud. While I can sort of grudgingly admit that Tom Cruise is a nice-looking man, press his face up that close to Katie Holmes, who at 26 looks every bit like she's barely 21, and he just looks like her father. And Tom, who is showing more and more signs everyday of going full-fledged batshit crazy like Mel Gibson before him, is starting to babble about marriage. Marriage. To this little girl that he's been dating for less than two months. I'm sure once their respective summer blockbusters are in and out of the theater, though, this whirlwind romance will fade into obscurity.
Also, I saw the teaser trailer for the next Harry Potter film, Goblet of Fire, and I must say, it looks quite intense and good.
